No variable specified
Buckhead Coalition’s PAC donates $50K to candidates
by Staff Reports
October 20, 2013 03:52 PM | 2932 views | 0 0 comments | 8 8 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Sam Massell
Sam Massell
Soliciting contributions from its membership for the 12-year-old Better Community Political Action Committee (BC PAC), the Buckhead Coalition Thursday announced it raised $50,400 for the Nov. 5 city of Atlanta elections. Considering candidate sensitivity to economic health of the business community and the quality of life of its residents, the PAC – chaired by Geoff Nolan – made contributions to 24 candidates.

the coalition endorsed Kasim Reed for reelection as mayor, its PAC chose to distribute its funds to the lesser positions where funds were more needed for closing weeks campaigning. In doing so, it prepared checks to the city council president and to 10 contested council races in the maximum allowed amount of $2,500 each. To the seven contested board of education candidates, it gave $1,000 each.

As there are seven unopposed candidates, the PAC made a gift to each of these in the amount they had to pay to qualify to be on the ballot. This was $1,184 to five council candidates (Yolanda Adrean, Michael Julian Bond, Kwanza Hall, C.T. Martin and Joyce Sheperd), and $444 to two school board candidates (Byron Amos and Matt Westmoreland).

The PAC has also reserved funds in the amount allowed of $1,300 each in several races where there is a likelihood there could be runoffs (where the candidate fails to receive more than 50 percent of the vote).

The total list of candidates recommended by the BC PAC are as follows: Reed (mayor), council candidates Ceasar Mitchell (president), Bond (Post 1 at-large); Aaron Watson (Post 2 at-large); Carla Smith (District 1); Hall (District 2); Ivory Young (District 3), Cleta Winslow (District 4), Natalyn Archibong (District 5), Alex Wan (District 6), Howard Shook (District 7), Yolanda Adrean (District 8), Felicia Moore (District 9), Martin (District 10); Keisha Bottoms (District 11), Sheperd (District 12) and school board candidates Nisha Simama (District 7 at-large), Mark Riley (District 8 at-large), Jason Esteves (District 9 at-large), Leslie Grant (District 1), Amos (District 2), Westmoreland (District 3), Taryn Bowman (District 4), Steve Lee (District 5) and Eshe Collins (District 6).

The PAC did not take a position in the council Post 3 at-large contest between Andre Dickens and Lamar Willis.

*We welcome your comments on the stories and issues of the day and seek to provide a forum for the community to voice opinions. All comments are subject to moderator approval before being made visible on the website but are not edited. The use of profanity, obscene and vulgar language, hate speech, and racial slurs is strictly prohibited. Advertisements, promotions, spam, and links to outside websites will also be rejected. Please read our terms of service for full guides