No variable specified
DeKalb school district to hold public hearings for phasing out of 12 schools
by Staff Reports
February 07, 2013 01:30 PM | 2972 views | 0 0 comments | 8 8 recommendations | email to a friend | print
In accordance with SPLOST IV and the 2011 10-year master facility plan, the DeKalb County School District proposes to phase-out 12 instructional facilities throughout the next five years: Austin Elementary, Avondale High, Clifton Elementary, DESA/Terry Mill, Fernbank Elementary, Meadowview Elementary, Midway Elementary, Ronald McNair Middle, Pleasantdale Elementary, Rockbridge Elementary, Smoke Rise Elementary and Wadsworth Elementary.

These schools will be replaced by the construction of new facilities and repurposing existing facilities in the out years.

Public hearings will be Feb. 19 and 26, from 6:30 to 8 p.m. at the DeKalb County School District administrative and instructional complex, 1701 Mountain Industrial Blvd. in Stone Mountain.

Any attendance lines adjustments for any receiving schools and their adjacent schools in order to accommodate the relocated students within each school’s capacity limits will be discussed the year prior to phase out.

Fernbank Elementary is presently scheduled to occupy Avondale Middle during the construction period.

*We welcome your comments on the stories and issues of the day and seek to provide a forum for the community to voice opinions. All comments are subject to moderator approval before being made visible on the website but are not edited. The use of profanity, obscene and vulgar language, hate speech, and racial slurs is strictly prohibited. Advertisements, promotions, spam, and links to outside websites will also be rejected. Please read our terms of service for full guides