No variable specified
East Point, College Park runoffs Tuesday
by Noreen Cochran
November 26, 2013 02:28 PM | 2378 views | 0 0 comments | 17 17 recommendations | email to a friend | print
The Fulton County Department of Registration and Elections will conduct runoff elections Dec. 3 for the city of East Point mayor and city council wards A and D elections.

The county will have early voting today from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. at the South Fulton Government Service Center, 5600 Stonewall Tell Road, Room 105, College Park.

East Point residents Nov. 5 unseated Mayor Earnestine Pittman, who came third in the four-way race for mayor with 22 percent of the vote.

Jannquell Peters won the most ballots with 1,700 or 37 percent of the total and Clyde Mitchell was second with 1,091 votes, or 24 percent.

Since neither won a clear victory, defined by 50 percent plus one vote, Mitchell and Peters will face each other in the runoff.

Similarly, Ward A incumbent Sharonda Hubbard will defend her seat against challenger Sharon Shropshire.

Ward D incumbent Jacqueline Slaughter-Gibbons will try to fend off opponent Deana Ingraham.

All residents who were registered to vote before the Oct. 8 deadline and who live in East Point are eligible to vote in the runoff, even if they did not vote Nov. 5.

Voters with questions about the elections or their voter status are encouraged to contact the department at (404) 730-7020.

The city of College Park is operating its own runoff election to decide the Ward IV race.

The candidates were incumbent Charles Phillips, Coco Bright and Roderick Gay.

Phillips won slightly more than 44 percent, or 172 votes, and Gay garnered about 28 percent, or 110 votes.

Bright trailed closely with about 27 percent, capturing just five fewer votes than Gay to end up with 105.

Ward IV voters will return to the polls to select either Phillips or Gay.

After Ward II candidate Abraham Watson dropped out, incumbent Joe Carn was unopposed and declared the victor.

Palmetto also conducted its own elections but will not be conducting a runoff.

Its top three vote-getters will head to the city council in January.

They are Michael Arnold with 295 votes, and incumbents Lucinda Rockemore, 262, and Laura Mullis, 253.

In a special referendum, voters approved Sunday alcohol package sales 234-161.


*We welcome your comments on the stories and issues of the day and seek to provide a forum for the community to voice opinions. All comments are subject to moderator approval before being made visible on the website but are not edited. The use of profanity, obscene and vulgar language, hate speech, and racial slurs is strictly prohibited. Advertisements, promotions, spam, and links to outside websites will also be rejected. Please read our terms of service for full guides