No variable specified
Miller defeats McLain for Douglasville council seat; Yockey re-elected.
by staff reports
November 06, 2013 11:01 AM | 1940 views | 0 0 comments | 9 9 recommendations | email to a friend | print
One of four incumbents will not be returning to Douglasville City Council following Tuesday's election.

Mike Miller narrowly defeated incumbent Dennis McLain for the Ward 2, Post 1, seat on Douglasville City Council in Tuesday's election, according to unofficial totals from the Douglas County Elections and Voter Registration Office.

Miller, an attorney and former Douglas County School Board member, received 285 votes to 232 for McLain.

McLain has served two terms on the council. He was stung in recent weeks by news reports about Facebook posts in which he was critical of President Barack Obama, which some in the community viewed as racially insensitive.

Meanwhile, in the only other contested race, Ward 1 incumbent Larry Yockey easily turned back a challenge from political newcomer Jay Smith.

Yockey, who is mayor pro-tem, received 208 votes to Smith's 125.

Other incumbents re-elected without opposition Tuesday were LaShun Burr Danley in Ward 3, Post 1, and Samuel Davis in Ward 3, Post 2.

*We welcome your comments on the stories and issues of the day and seek to provide a forum for the community to voice opinions. All comments are subject to moderator approval before being made visible on the website but are not edited. The use of profanity, obscene and vulgar language, hate speech, and racial slurs is strictly prohibited. Advertisements, promotions, spam, and links to outside websites will also be rejected. Please read our terms of service for full guides