No variable specified
Smith wins chairman runoff
by Mary Cosgrove
August 22, 2012 08:09 AM | 2420 views | 0 0 comments | 23 23 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Tommy Smith won the runoff race against incumbent Elizabeth "B.J." Mathis for Henry County Board of Commission chairman.

Smith earned 58.48 percent of the vote, with an overall 6,553 votes.

Mathis trailed behind by 1,900 votes — earning 41.52 percent of the vote for a total of 4,653.

Total number of votes cast was 11,206.

Smith will now advance to the November election, during which he will face Democratic candidate Carlotta Harrell.

Gary Barham earned majority vote against Bill Toney in the Henry County Board of Commission District 3 runoff race.

Barham received 2,305 votes for 59.55 percent and Toney earned 1,566 votes for 40.45 percent of the vote.

Barham will face Democratic candidate Sandra Vincent in November.

The elections results are currently unofficial, but are slated to be certified Friday.

*We welcome your comments on the stories and issues of the day and seek to provide a forum for the community to voice opinions. All comments are subject to moderator approval before being made visible on the website but are not edited. The use of profanity, obscene and vulgar language, hate speech, and racial slurs is strictly prohibited. Advertisements, promotions, spam, and links to outside websites will also be rejected. Please read our terms of service for full guides