No variable specified
Sports News
by Staff
March 13, 2014 10:13 AM | 2948 views | 0 0 comments | 28 28 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Atlanta Tipoff Club awards local players

A number of area high school basketball standouts and coaches received by the Atlanta Tipoff Club, which released its players of the year and All-Metro teams last Wednesday.

St. Francis’ Malik Beasley and Roswell’s Andreona Keys were selected to the All-Metro Atlanta boys’ and girls’ second teams, respectively.

Chattahoochee’s Marcus Sheffield was an All-Metro Atlanta third-team selection, while Milton’s Mo Lewis IV and St. Francis’ Candice Williams were boys’ and girls’ honorable-mention selectees, respectively.

The winners were selected by the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s board of selectors, which consists of coaches and administrators from around the metro area.

All honorees will be recognized at the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s Naismith Awards banquet at the Georgia International Convention Center Atlanta March 20.

Area basketball players picked for All-Region

A number of local high school basketball standouts have been selected to postseason all-region teams.

Roswell’s Andreona Keys was named the Region 5AAAAAA girls’ player of the year.

Roswell’s Nikki Cwalina was a first-team All-Region 5AAAAAA selection, while teammates Greer Hampton and Emily Pruitt were honorable mention.

Chattahoochee’s Marcus Sheffield was named the 6AAAAAA boys’ player of the year.

Alpharetta’s Devontae Cacok and Bryan Roberts, Centennial’s Xavier Jackson and Tre Hansbrough and Johns Creek’s Peyton Smith were selected to the All-Region 6AAAAAA boys’ team, while Chattahoochee’s Avery Ward was an honorable mention selection.

Centennial players Brianna Perry and Paige Elliott, Alpharetta’s Teja Finley and Chattahoochee’s Erin Morrow were selected to the All-Region 6AAAAAA girls’ team.

Cambridge’s Jordan Sloter was a second-team selection on the All-Region 7AAAAA boys’ team.

Honorable mention choices among the 7AAAAA boys were Cambridge’s Hunter Knocke and Emerson McClung and Northview’s Dylan Causwell, Jalen Archie-Davis and Isiah Rose.

Local selections on the All-Region 7AAAAA girls’ honorable mention were Cambridge’s Ali LoPiccolo and Northview’s Hanna Babadele, Shannon Titus and Brittney Neser.

Blessed Trinity had a couple of players chosen for the All-Region 6AA boys’ team. Patrick Lamar was a first-team selection, while Connor O’Neal was a second-team choice.

St. Francis’ Candice Williams was named a girls’ co-player of the year in Region 6A.

St. Francis players Abby Grant and Kasi Kushkituah were All-Region 6A selections, along with Fellowship Christian’s Kelsey Royalty.

Alpharetta, Centennial to play at Dogwood Classic

North Fulton powerhouses Alpharetta and Centennial will go up against some of the top girls’ lacrosse teams in the state and the southeast in the 14th annual Dogwood High School Girls Lacrosse Classic at Westminster this weekend.

Alpharetta and Centennial will be joined by host Westminster and Lovett as well as out-of-state teams Harpeth Hall (Tenn.), Lamar (Tex.), Mountain Brook (Ala.) and St. Anne-Belfield (Va.) in the eight-team field.

First-round games will be played Friday at Westminster and Lovett, with all of Saturday’s contests – including the 3 p.m. finals – are to be held at Westminster.

In Friday’s first-round action, Alpharetta will play Harpeth Hall at 5 p.m. at Westminster, while Centennial takes on St. Anne-Belfield at 5 p.m. at Lovett.

Admission for all games is free of charge.

*We welcome your comments on the stories and issues of the day and seek to provide a forum for the community to voice opinions. All comments are subject to moderator approval before being made visible on the website but are not edited. The use of profanity, obscene and vulgar language, hate speech, and racial slurs is strictly prohibited. Advertisements, promotions, spam, and links to outside websites will also be rejected. Please read our terms of service for full guides