No variable specified
State Senate Republican Caucus elects Shafer president pro tempore
by Staff
November 30, 2012 10:57 AM | 1784 views | 0 0 comments | 18 18 recommendations | email to a friend | print
State Sen. David Shafer, R-Duluth, who represents parts of north Fulton County, has been elected by the Senate Republican Caucus to serve as the next president pro tempore of the Georgia State Senate, effective with the start of the 152nd Legislative Session of the Georgia General Assembly.

The Senate Republican Caucus held leadership elections today during a retreat at Little Ocmulgee State Park, where they will also adopt caucus rules and proposed Senate rules for the upcoming legislative session.

“I am humbled by the support shown by my Senate colleagues in today’s election,” Shafer said in a statement. “With the upcoming legislative session less than two months away and with several critical issues needing immediate attention,it is imperative that we begin work now.”

“I congratulate Sen. David Shafer on being nominated by the republican caucus for president pro tempore and have great confidence in his leadership and his ability to work together with our colleagues to advance the commonsense conservative agenda that will encourage private sector job growth, strengthen education and work to address the concerns of our common constituents,” said Lt. Gov. Casey Cagle. “This is a united team and together we will do great things for Georgia.”

Shafer will become the 68th president pro tempore in the history of Georgia, the Senate’s second-highest ranking position after the lieutenant governor.

The president pro tempore chairs the Senate Administrative Affairs Committee, which is responsible for operations of the Senate, and is charged with speaking on behalf of the entire Senate. He also assumes the duties of the lieutenant governor in his absence.

Shafer most recently served as chairman of the Senate Regulated Industries and Utilities Committee, vice chairman of the Senate Insurance and Labor Committee, and as a member of the Senate Finance, Government Oversight and Rules Committees. He also served as an ex-officio member of the Health and Human Services Committee.

The 152nd Legislative Session of the Georgia General Assembly will convene Jan. 14 at the Georgia State Capitol.

At that time, the entire Senate will cast a formal vote for president pro tempore.

*We welcome your comments on the stories and issues of the day and seek to provide a forum for the community to voice opinions. All comments are subject to moderator approval before being made visible on the website but are not edited. The use of profanity, obscene and vulgar language, hate speech, and racial slurs is strictly prohibited. Advertisements, promotions, spam, and links to outside websites will also be rejected. Please read our terms of service for full guides