No variable specified
Students officials for a day
by Joan Durbin
October 10, 2012 05:19 PM | 2009 views | 0 0 comments | 18 18 recommendations | email to a friend | print
The teens who will be acting as city officials for Roswell’s 62nd Annual Youth Day on Saturday were introduced and briefly took over at Monday night’s city council meeting.

“Youth Day is for kids. It’s their day, and they’re in charge,” said Morgan Rodgers, assistant director of Roswell’s recreation and parks.

“They were selected by their teachers to represent their schools, and they are the cream of the crop.”

Roswell High student Abby Jensen will be mayor for the day. Council members are Alexander Sun, Sam Jessen, Julia Ough and Mary Stuart Shannon from Roswell High School and Becca Davis and Sohil Shyamsundar from Centennial High.

Also from Roswell High, Grant Miller is chief of police and Stephanie Craigue is city administrator.

Caroline Freemeyer of Centennial is fire chief and Juan Fonseca, also from Centennial, is chair of the city’s recreation commission.

Roswell resident Raychel Germaine, 17, will be the parade grand marshal.

*We welcome your comments on the stories and issues of the day and seek to provide a forum for the community to voice opinions. All comments are subject to moderator approval before being made visible on the website but are not edited. The use of profanity, obscene and vulgar language, hate speech, and racial slurs is strictly prohibited. Advertisements, promotions, spam, and links to outside websites will also be rejected. Please read our terms of service for full guides