No variable specified
Council votes to reorganize police divisions, appoints animal control board members
by Liz Marino
April 10, 2013 05:02 PM | 1622 views | 0 0 comments | 10 10 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Douglasville City Council voted last week to reorganize some police department divisions.

The council adopted a resolution requested by Police Chief Chris Womack to reorganize the department by establishing four corporal positions in the patrol division and eliminating four police officer slots in the same division.

The move would establish one sergeant position in the field training program and delete a separate position in the division. One lieutenant position would be established in the motors division and one sergeant position in the same division would be eliminated.

Also during the April 1 meeting, the city council made several appointments to local boards and commissions.

Julianne Hudson and Councilwoman LaShun Burr-Danley were appointed to represent the city on the Douglas County Animal Control Advisory Board for two-year terms, effective immediately.

T. Dennis Connally was appointed to the city’s Historical Preservation Committee for a three-year term ending Jan. 31, 2016.

The city council appointed Jeffrey Camp and Jennifer Perkins to the Douglasville Development Authority, to complete unexpired terms until July 23, 2014. Camp will serve on post two, while Perkins will fill the post four position.

*We welcome your comments on the stories and issues of the day and seek to provide a forum for the community to voice opinions. All comments are subject to moderator approval before being made visible on the website but are not edited. The use of profanity, obscene and vulgar language, hate speech, and racial slurs is strictly prohibited. Advertisements, promotions, spam, and links to outside websites will also be rejected. Please read our terms of service for full guides