No variable specified
Teacher of the Year Award to be given at luncheon
by Adam Elrod
May 01, 2013 11:34 AM | 2823 views | 0 0 comments | 15 15 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Image 1 / 2
Russom Elementary Preschool teacher Michele Wing helps student Isaiah Fredrick, 4, son of Amber and Matt Fredrick of Acworth, with his math skills.
Paulding Education Foundation and Paulding County School District are preparing to honor top teachers from each public school and give one of them the district’s Teacher of the Year Award.

The ceremony is scheduled for Tuesday for the teachers at Paulding Northwest Atlanta Airport, said Amy Mollohan, executive director of the foundation.

Family members and those wishing to attend the event were asked to reserve a spot at the luncheon.

In the past the human resource department has organized it as a reception and ceremony.

“It has happened on a smaller scale,” Mollohan said.

This year each school has been asked to send off the teachers to the lunch, be it an announcement, pep rally or any way they choose, Mollohan said.

Members First Credit Union is lead sponsor for the event, which is fully paid for by corporate sponsors. They also donate gifts to each teacher from the schools, she said.

Jennifer Ferguson, supervisor of human resources for the school district, said officials hope the luncheon will show teachers the appreciation the district has for them.

She said she is excited that, for the second year, the district will show a video featuring all of the teachers. Each teacher will receive a copy of their video.

“The school district handles the selection [of the Teacher of the Year], I handle the celebration side,” Mollohan said. “It was a natural partnership between the Education Foundation and the HR Department.”

To choose the districtwide teacher of the year officials enlist a retired educator, whose identity officials do not disclose, to choose the top two teachers based on applications. The retiree then gives a recommendation on who should be the winner, Ferguson said. System officials have the final say on the winner but have always followed the recommendation, she said.

The teacher of the year will be in the running for the statewide Teacher of the Year award.

The school-level teachers of the year are:

•Peggy Moeller, Abney Elementary

•Kendal Raines, Allgood Elementary

•Laura DeLong, Baggett Elementary

•Stephanie Hardy, Burnt Hickory Elementary

•Barbara Oshansky, Dallas Elementary

•Craig Young, Dugan Elementary

•Lauren Camp, Hiram Elementary

•Kathy Vines, Hutchens Elementary

•Daniel Gaddis, McGarity Elementary

•Amy Young, Nebo Elementary

•Sylvia Cook, New Georgia Elementary

•Jonathan Smith, Northside Elementary

•Endea Hudgins, Panter Elementary

•Michelle Kudwa, Poole Elementary

•Tonya Bradley, Ragsdale Elementary

•Wendy Rainwater, Roberts Elementary

•Michele Wing, Russom Elementary

•Tammy Carnes, Shelton Elementary

•Gretchen Witt, Union Elementary

•Betsy Clegg, Austin Middle

•Mark Haney, Dobbins Middle

•Annette Pearson, East Paulding Middle

•Jane Clark, Herschel Jones Middle

•Brandi Southern, McClure Middle

•Joe Rhea, Moses Middle

•Pamela Williams, Ritch Middle

•Rachel Summerville, Scoggins Middle

•Brian Frank South, Paulding Middle

•Tracy Sellars, East Paulding High

•Russell Brand, Hiram High

•Tammy Brown, North Paulding High

•Marc Pedersen, Paulding County High

•Christopher Carr, South Paulding High

•Ivey Hansard, New Hope Education Center

*We welcome your comments on the stories and issues of the day and seek to provide a forum for the community to voice opinions. All comments are subject to moderator approval before being made visible on the website but are not edited. The use of profanity, obscene and vulgar language, hate speech, and racial slurs is strictly prohibited. Advertisements, promotions, spam, and links to outside websites will also be rejected. Please read our terms of service for full guides