No variable specified
East Point mayor unseated; comes in third in four-way race
by Noreen Cochran
November 06, 2013 12:00 AM | 4729 views | 0 0 comments | 35 35 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Editor’s note: election results are unofficial until certified by the Secretary of State’s office.

East Point Mayor Earnestine Pittman is out of the running for reelection as she fell to third place in a four-way race for the city’s top slot.

“The people have spoken,” she said Tuesday night. “I will never fight against the people. They want change and that’s what they will be getting. I wish the city and the candidates in the runoff the best of luck.”

With no candidate receiving the required 50 percent plus one vote to claim victory, the Dec. 3 runoff will feature challengers Jannquell Peters and Clyde Mitchell.

“The citizens have really stepped up and said they want a change in East Point,” Mitchell said Tuesday night. “They made a decision and now have to select between two new candidates moving forward. We’re looking forward to getting out and continuing to engage with citizens for positive change.”

At 11 p.m., with 100 percent of precincts reporting, Peters had 1,666 votes (38 percent) over Mitchell’s 1,064 votes (24 percent).

Pittman earned 977 votes (22 percent) and Andy Korta trailed with 709 (16 percent).

For city council, Ward A voters favored incumbent Sharonda Hubbard with a substantial lead, but not enough to avoid a runoff.

Hubbard garnered 1,652 ballots, or about 40 percent of the vote.

She will face second-place finisher Sharon D. Shropshire who earned 1,186, or about 29 percent.

They were followed by Alexia Ryan with 766 and Johnny Fowler with 490.

Ward C was a neck-and-neck battle earlier in the evening between incumbent Marcel Reed and Nanette Saucier but the challenger has since pulled out in front.

Saucier avoids a runoff by capturing 2,211 votes (56 percent) to Reed’s 1,757 (44 percent).

Another incumbent is facing peril in Ward D as Jacqueline Slaughter-Gibbons with 993 votes (24 percent) has been bypassed by challenger Deana Ingraham, owner of 1,356 votes (33 percent), but they will finalize the race in the runoff.

Closely following was Delores Harmon with 914 votes trailed by Derrick Foreman, 522 votes, and DeAndre Pickett with 297.

For Ward B at large, Karen Rene maintained her early two-to-one lead over both Corrie Claiborne and Marie Williams by capturing 2,031 votes to claim nearly 52 percent of the ballots. Williams finished with 1,036 votes and Claiborne, 830.


*We welcome your comments on the stories and issues of the day and seek to provide a forum for the community to voice opinions. All comments are subject to moderator approval before being made visible on the website but are not edited. The use of profanity, obscene and vulgar language, hate speech, and racial slurs is strictly prohibited. Advertisements, promotions, spam, and links to outside websites will also be rejected. Please read our terms of service for full guides