No variable specified
Chamblee voters OK annexation
by LaTria Garnigan
November 12, 2013 01:16 PM | 3576 views | 0 0 comments | 32 32 recommendations | email to a friend | print
With turnout a little more than 18 percent, voters barely trickled into the DeKalb County precincts to vote in last week’s general municipal election. Compared to other municipalities in the county, Dunwoody had the most voters turn out to the polls.

Although there were two seats up for election in the newly-incorporated city of Brookhaven, the city did not hold elections since the incumbents Jim Eyre and Joe Gebbia did not have opponents.

The highly publicized city of Dunwoody elections for three city council seats did not go to the ‘Clean Sweep’ candidates, as they called themselves. Instead, both incumbents Denis Shortal, District 1 Post 1, and Doug Thompson, District 3 Post 3, kept their seats, with city councilwoman Adrian Bonser’s open District 2 Post 2 seat going to Jim Riticher.

Residents in the city of Chamblee voted ‘yes’ to annexation with 61 percent, which gives the city rights over the disputed Century Center property. The cities of Chamblee and Brookhaven have been going back and forth for months over the property ever since Century Center tenants petitioned to be part of the city of Brookhaven.

In late October a judge halted the city of Brookhaven from moving forward with its annexation plans of Century Center. The property, owned by Highwood Properties, is a 100-acre parcel of land, which the city of Chamblee said it would be harmed financially if annexed into Brookhaven.

For the Chamblee City Council-at-large seat, newcomer Brian Mock won with 58 percent of the vote over incumbent Scott Taylor.

Stone Mountain Mayor Patricia Wheeler was reelected, as well as Post 5 city councilman Steve Higgins. Newcomers to Stone Mountain City Council include Andrea Redmond, who was elected to the Post 6 seat with 54 percent of the vote, and Steve Wells, who won in the special election with 62 percent for the Post 2 seat.

In Decatur, Lewis Jones was elected with 52 percent of the vote for the District 1, Post A seat on the City Schools of Decatur Board of Education. In other Decatur races, incumbents Fred Boykin, Patricia Garrett and Bernadette Jackson Seals were all reelected. Annie Caiola ran unopposed for the school board’s at-large seat.

Avondale Estates City Commissioner incumbent Terry Giager kept his seat with 33 percent of the vote. Randy Beebe joins the commission with 25 percent of the vote. Avondale Estates voters had to pick two candidates out of four, with the top two gaining seats.

The city of Doraville will see two new faces on its city council. Dawn O’Connor garnered 58 percent of the vote against incumbent Brian Bates for the District 2 seat. For District 3, Sharon Spangler won with 56 percent against incumbent Karen Pachuta.

*We welcome your comments on the stories and issues of the day and seek to provide a forum for the community to voice opinions. All comments are subject to moderator approval before being made visible on the website but are not edited. The use of profanity, obscene and vulgar language, hate speech, and racial slurs is strictly prohibited. Advertisements, promotions, spam, and links to outside websites will also be rejected. Please read our terms of service for full guides