No variable specified
Henry County candidates qualify for election in May
by Christine Fonville
March 11, 2014 03:33 PM | 3329 views | 0 0 comments | 18 18 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Qualifying for the primary election May 20 ended last Friday.

Candidates qualified to appear on the ballots in Henry County for county commission districts 3, 4 and 5; magistrate and state court judge; school board districts 4 and 5; solicitor general; the state House of Representatives and the state Senate.

Commission District 3 candidates include Democrat I. Darryl Payton, incumbent Republican Gary Barham, and Republicans Horace Brannan and William “Bill” Toney.

Commission District 4 candidates are incumbent Republican Reid Bowman Sr. and Republican Blake Prince.

Commission District 5 only has one candidate, incumbent Democrat Bruce Holmes.

School board District 4 candidates are Virgil Brannon and Donna McBride, both non-partisan.

School board District 5 candidates are incumbent Erik Charles and Annette Edwards, both non-partisan.

State Court judge candidates Jason T. Harper and Ben Studdard, both non-partisan incumbents, will be on the ballot for the two available seats.

For solicitor general, nonpartisan incumbent Trea Pipkin will run unopposed.

For magistrate judge, nonpartisan incumbent Robert Godwin will run unopposed.

Senate and House candidates are as follows:

Senate District 10, incumbent Democrat Emanuel D. Jones of Decatur

Senate District 17, incumbent Republican Rick Jeffares of Locust Grove

House District 73, Democrat Mario D. Driver of Griffin and incumbent Republican John P. Yates of Griffin

House District 76, incumbent Democrat Sandra Scott of Rex

House District 78, Republican Christopher J. Deraney of Jonesboro and incumbent Democrat Demetrius M. Douglas of Stockbridge

House District 109, incumbent Republican Dale Rutledge of McDonough

House District 110, Democrat B. Kaye Shipley of McDonough and Republican incumbent Andy Welch of McDonough

House District 111, Democrat James A. Nichols IV of Stockbridge and incumbent Republican Brian Strickland of Locust Grove.

*We welcome your comments on the stories and issues of the day and seek to provide a forum for the community to voice opinions. All comments are subject to moderator approval before being made visible on the website but are not edited. The use of profanity, obscene and vulgar language, hate speech, and racial slurs is strictly prohibited. Advertisements, promotions, spam, and links to outside websites will also be rejected. Please read our terms of service for full guides