No variable specified
Inaugural Georgia Kicking, Punting, Snapping Ceremony set for Mar. 22
by Staff Reports
March 12, 2014 09:58 PM | 3570 views | 0 0 comments | 29 29 recommendations | email to a friend | print
On March 22, some of the best high school kickers, punters and snappers in the state will be honored by The Cedric Oglesby Kicking Academy during the first Annual Georgia Kicking, Punting and Snapping Awards.

The ceremony will start at 7 p.m. at Grady High School, where the Cedric Oglesby Award (High School Kicker of the Year), Punter of the Year and Snapper of the Year will be announced.

Finalists for the Oglesby Award are: Marietta senior Ian Shannon, Aquinas junior Justin Thompson and St. Pius senior Thomas O'Leary.

Finalists for the Punter of the Year Award are: Milton senior Matt Moskowitz, Marion County senior AJ Wells and Carrollton senior Tyler Newsome.

Finalist for the Snapper of the Year Award are: Tift County senior Ike Powell, South Forsyth senior Davis Winkle, St. Pius senior Casey Wilson and Bremen senior Zach Wade.

For more information on the event visit

Below are the Georgia All-State Team Selections and Honorable Mentions from each GHSA classification and the independent schools.


1st Team Kicker: Ian Shannon, Marietta, Jr.

2nd Team Kicker: Evan Pantels, Peachtree Ridge, Sr.

Honorable Mention: Adam Abdellaoui, Chattahoochee, Sr. / Michael D’Angola, North Gwinnett, Sr. / Cole Antley, East Coweta Jr. / Jose Vega, Colquitt County, Sr./ Nick Hart, Lowndes, Jr. / Timmy Hartshorn, West Forsyth, Sr. / Devin O’Neill, Centennial, Sr. / Brandon Morrow, Brookwood, Sr. / Luke Hardin, Lassiter, Sr. / Eric Autry, Parkview, Jr. / Blake Bingham, Norcross, Jr. / Bryson King, Mill Creek, Jr.

1st Team Punter: Matt Moskowitz, Milton, Sr.

2nd Team Punter: Mac Loudermilk, Valdosta, Sr.

Honorable Mention: Ian Shannon, Marietta, Jr. / Alex Hernandez, Tri-Cities, Jr. / Charles McGugan, Grayson, Jr. / Evan Pantels, Peachtree Ridge, Sr. / Jesse Romero, Meadowcreek, Sr.

1st Team Snapper: Ike Powell, Tift County, Sr.

2nd Team Snapper: Davis Winkie, South Forsyth, Sr.

Honorable Mention: Clay Barton, North Forsyth, Sr. / Travis Baugus, West Forsyth, Jr. / Andrew Butcher, Alpharetta, Jr. / Kyle Varnell, Johns Creek, Jr. / Zach Scott, Walton, Sr. / Steven Nixon, Harrison, Jr.


1st Team Kicker: Matt Monday, Warner Robins, Sr.

2nd Team Kicker: Arty Wollschlager, Allatoona, Sr.

Honorable Mention: Rodrigo Blankenship, Sprayberry, Jr. / Eric Weber, Tucker, Sr. / Nick Alvey, McIntosh, Sr. / Josh Klein, East Paulding, Sr. / Joel Heiser, Richmond Hill, Sr. / Gage Turner, Gainesville, Sr. / Andy Person, Lakeside, Sr.

1st Team Punter: Rodrigo Blankenship, Sprayberry, Jr.

2nd Team Punter: Isaac Rivera, Northside-Warner Robins, Sr.

Honorable Mention: Charlie Goedtke, McIntosh, Sr. / Shawn Davis, Union Grove, Jr. / Hunter Smith, Cambridge, Jr.

1st Team Snapper: AJ Brown, Sequoyah, Sr.

2nd Team Snapper: Connor Kubala, Lakeside (Evans), Jr.

Honorable Mention: Blake Pace, Northside (Columbus), Sr. / Troy Hatch, Sprayberry, Jr.

Class AAAA

1st Team Kicker: Tyler Newsome, Carrollton, Sr.

2nd Team Kicker: Joey Gogol, Marist, Jr.

Honorable Mention: John-Henry Carey, Chamblee, Sr. / Tanner Stumpe, Westover, Sr. / Miguel Villa, Northwest Whitfield, Sr.

1st Team Punter: Miguel Villa, Northwest Whitfield, Sr.

2nd Team Punter: Tyler Newsome, Carrollton, Sr.

Honorable Mention: Tanner Brumby, Pickens, Sr. / Gardner Duckworth, Richmond Academy, Jr. / Eder Mora, Dalton, Jr

1st Team Snapper: Matt Hill, Marist, Sr.

2nd Team Snapper: Lance Waldrop, Carrollton, Jr.

Class AAA

1st Team Kicker: Thomas O’Leary, St. Pius, Sr.

2nd Team Kicker: Matthew Bonadies, Buford, Jr.

Honorable Mention: Marc Nolan, Blessed Trinity, Sr. / A.J. Cole, Woodward Academy, Sr., / William Ham, Stratford Academy, Sr.

1st Team Punter: Wesley Long, Central-Carroll, Jr.

2nd Team Punter: A.J. Cole, Woodward Academy, Sr. / Marc Nolan, Blessed Trinity, Sr.

Honorable Mention: Dushad Morris, Johnson, Jr.

1st Team Snapper: Casey Wilson, St. Pius, Sr.

2nd Team Snapper: Blake Ferguson, Buford, Jr.

Honorable Mention: John Courson, North Oconee, Sr. / Dalton Padgett, Thomson, Sr. / Matt Swanson, West Hall, So. / Scott Meyer, Blessed Trinity, So.

Class AA

1st Team Kicker: Andres Aparicio, Greene County, Jr.

2nd Team Kicker: Trey Blasingame, Westminster, Jr.

Honorable Mention: Tyler Scandrett, Lamar County, Sr. / Brandon Blaylock, Calhoun, Sr.

1st Team Punter: Ross Wood, Greater Atlanta Christian, Sr.

2nd Team Punter: Dalton Hill, Jefferson, Jr

Honorable Mention: Tyler Scandrett, Lamar County, Sr. / Robert Prunier, Union County, Jr. / Jordan Weaver, Wesleyan, So. / Jonathan Hunt, Heard County, Sr.

1st Team Snapper: Zach Wade, Bremen, Sr.

2nd Team Snapper: Drew McCracken, Calhoun, Jr.

Honorable Mention: Ryan Davis, Fitzgerald, Jr.

Class A

1st Team Kicker: Justin Thompson, Aquinas, Jr.

2nd Team Kicker: Colton Lichtenberg, Savannah Country Day, Jr.

Honorable Mention: A.J. Wells, Marion County, Sr. / Cole Fisher, George Walton Academy, Jr. / Jameson Vest, Our Lady of Mercy, Jr. / Michael Santamaria, Athens Academy, Sr. / Dallas Kepler, Mount Paran Christian School, Sr. / Logan Tovar, Savannah Christian, Jr. / Miller Page, Brookstone, Sr. / Shea Underwood, Towns, So.

1st Team Punter: A.J. Wells, Marion County, Sr.

2nd Team Punter: Ian Berryman, Fellowship Christian

Honorable Mention: Justin Thompson, Aquinas, 5-10, 150, Jr. / P Trae Harrington, Charlton County, Sr., 6-1, 180 / Christopher Birozes, Pinecrest / Colton Lichtenberg, Savannah Country Day, Jr.,

1st Team Snapper: John Morrison, Pace Academy, Sr.

2nd Team Snapper: Ben Asbury, Holy Innocents, Sr.


1st Team Kicker: AJ Aaron Red linger, The Kings Academy, Sr.

2nd Team Kicker: Trevor Bowden, Gate wood, Sr.

Honorable Mention: Josh Bonham, Curtis Baptist, Jr.

1st Team Punter: Trevor Bowden, Gatewood, Sr.

2nd Team Punter: AJ Aaron Redlinger, The Kings Academy, Sr.

*We welcome your comments on the stories and issues of the day and seek to provide a forum for the community to voice opinions. All comments are subject to moderator approval before being made visible on the website but are not edited. The use of profanity, obscene and vulgar language, hate speech, and racial slurs is strictly prohibited. Advertisements, promotions, spam, and links to outside websites will also be rejected. Please read our terms of service for full guides